Dr Bernadette Boss

Dr Boss was appointed as a Magistrate and Coroner of the ACT Magistrates Court on 11 June 2012. She is also the current Galambany Court (circle sentencing Court) magistrate. Her Honour holds a PhD in international humanitarian law and human rights law from the University of Sydney. She has practiced as a barrister in England and Wales, as well as in Australia. Magistrate Boss has also served as a Legal Officer with the Australian Regular Army and as a general service officer with the Army Reserve. Her Honour has experience in a range of areas including criminal law, family law, common law, military law and administrative law.



Judge Helen Bowskill

Helen Bowskill QC was appointed a Judge of the District Court of Queensland in November 2014. She also holds commissions as a Judge of the Children’s Court of Queensland and the Planning and Environment Court. Her Honour served as the Associate to the Honourable Justice Drummond of the Federal Court of Australia in 1996, and completed articles of clerkship with Minter Ellison in 1997. Her Honour was admitted as a solicitor in January 1998, and as a barrister in July 1998. She commenced practice at the private Bar in Brisbane in July 1998. Her Honour took silk on 14 November 2013. As a barrister, she practised widely in public, administrative and commercial law areas, with a particular focus on Native Title law. She also participated in the Bar Association’s Indigenous Students’ mentoring scheme, and was a member of several professional bodies. .



Mr Nigel Browne

Nigel Browne is a Larrakia and Wulna man. He is CEO of the Larrakia Development Corporation. Professional roles include Crown Prosecutor (ODPPNT), Aboriginal Lands (SFNT), and Policy Adviser (Chief Minister’s Office). He has held board positions with the North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency, Law Society (NT) and Australia Day Council (NT). Nigel serves as a Legal Officer with the Royal Australian Navy Reserve and previously as a Patrolman in NORFORCE with the Army Reserve. He is also a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.